Press Kit

Queries
To contact Aliette directly, please use the contact form here.
Please direct queries about novel or novella rights to Aliette’s agent, John Berlyne at Zeno Agency Ltd.

Pictures
These photos are free to download and re-use. Please credit the photographer, Lou Abercrombie. Click to open and save the high-res version.

 

Aliette’s latest:

Title: Of Dragons, Feasts and Murders
Author: Aliette de Bodard
Publication date: 7th July 2019
Publisher: JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.
ISBN: ebook ISBN 9781625674845 (ebook, $4.99), Print ISBN 9781625674852 (POD)
Retail price: $4.99 – $16.99
Available In: ebook | trade paperback
Genre: Dark romantic fantasy

From the author of the critically acclaimed Dominion of the Fallen trilogy comes a tale of dragons, and Fallen angels—and also kissing, sarcasm and stabbing.

Lunar New Year should be a time for familial reunions, ancestor worship, and consumption of an unhealthy amount of candied fruit.

But when dragon prince Thuan brings home his brooding and ruthless husband Asmodeus for the New Year, they find not interminable family gatherings, but a corpse outside their quarters. Asmodeus is thrilled by the murder investigation; Thuan, who gets dragged into the political plotting he’d sworn off when he left, is less enthusiastic.

It’ll take all of Asmodeus’s skill with knives, and all of Thuan’s diplomacy, to navigate this one—as well as the troubled waters of their own relationship….

A sparkling standalone book set in a world of dark intrigue.

A Note on Chronology
Spinning off from the Dominion of the Fallen series, which features political intrigue in Gothic devastated Paris, this book stands alone, but chronologically follows The House of Sundering Flames. It’s High Gothic meets C-drama in a Vietnamese inspired world—perfect for fans of The Untamed, KJ Charles, and Roshani Chokshi’s The Gilded Wolves

Advance praise:

“Delightful… Beautiful writing, weird and magical world, fascinating culture and politics, and compelling characters: what more do you need?”

KJ Charles, author of Slippery Creatures

“Fantasy of Manners but with corpses and a stabby husband. The stabby husband may or may not have produced the aforementioned corpses.”

Sara/Sharade, The Fantasy Inn

Bios for re-use
50-word bio:
Aliette de Bodard writes speculative fiction: she has won three Nebula Awards, a Locus Award and four British Science Fiction Association Awards, and was a double Hugo finalist. Her most recent book is Of Dragons, Feasts and Murders, a fantasy of manners and murders set in an alternate 19th Century Vietnamese court (upcoming July 7th from JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.). She lives in Paris.

90-word bio:

Aliette de Bodard lives and works in Paris. She has won three Nebula Awards, a Locus Award, a British Fantasy Award and four British Science Fiction Association Awards, and was a double Hugo finalist for 2019 (Best Series and Best Novella). Her most recent book is Of Dragons, Feasts and Murders, a fantasy of manners and murders set in an alternate 19th Century Vietnamese court (upcoming July 7th from JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.). Her short story collection Of Wars, and Memories, and Starlight is out from Subterranean Press. She lives in Paris.

150-word bio:

Aliette de Bodard lives and works in Paris. She has won three Nebula Awards, a Locus Award, a British Fantasy Award and four British Science Fiction Association Awards. She was a double Hugo finalist for 2019 (Best Series and Best Novella).

Her most recent book is Of Dragons, Feasts and Murders, a fantasy of manners and murders set in an alternate 19th Century Vietnamese court (upcoming July 7th from JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.).

Her space opera books include The Tea Master and the Detective (2018 Nebula Award winner, 2018 British Fantasy Award winner, 2019 Hugo Award finalist), and the upcoming Seven of Infinities, in which a poor principled scholar and a disillusioned sentient spaceship must solve a murder, but find themselves falling for each other.

Her short story collection Of Wars, and Memories, and Starlight is out from Subterranean Press.

300-word bio:

Aliette de Bodard lives and works in Paris, where she has a day job as a System Engineer. She studied Computer Science and Applied Mathematics, but moonlights as a writer of speculative fiction. Aliette has won three Nebula Awards, a Locus Award, a British Fantasy Award and four British Science Fiction Association Awards, and was a double Hugo finalist for 2019 (Best Series and Best Novella).

Her most recent book is Of Dragons, Feasts and Murders, a fantasy of manners and murders set in an alternate 19th Century Vietnamese court (upcoming July 7th from JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.). She also published the Dominion of the Fallen trilogy, set in a turn-of-the-century Paris devastated by a magical war–which comprises The House of Shattered Wings (Roc/Gollancz, 2015 British Science Fiction Association Award, Locus Award finalist), and The House of Binding Thorns (Ace/Gollancz, 2017 European Science Fiction Society Achievement Award, Locus award finalist), and The House of Sundering Flames. 

Her short story collection Of Wars, and Memories, and Starlight is out from Subterranean Press.

Her space opera books include The Tea Master and the Detective (2018 Nebula Award winner, 2018 British Fantasy Award winner, 2019 Hugo Award finalist), a murder mystery set on a space station in a Vietnamese Galactic empire, inspired by the characters of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson – and the upcoming Seven of Infinities, in which a poor principled scholar and a disillusioned sentient spaceship must solve a murder, but find themselves falling for each other.

She lives in Paris with her family, in a flat with more computers than warm bodies, and a set of Lovecraftian tentacled plants intent on taking over the place. In what little is left of her spare time, she wrangles a small toddler and cooks Franco-Vietnamese food. Hobbies include board games, tai chi/chi gong, and devouring books.

Misc

Correct pronunciation of Aliette de Bodard:

Press

“…a writer who, in a career of barely more than a decade, has shown remarkable versatility, shifting from the multiple award-winning, far-future space opera settings of her Xuya series to the Dominion of the Fallen fantasy novels, which seem to occupy a territory no one had suspected was even there, somewhere between John Milton and Victor Hugo.”

Gary K Wolfe, Locus

“Aliette de Bodard is constantly not only revisiting but reinventing her own Xuya universe and one of her many, many qualities as a writer is this beautiful mix of modern futures with on-going traditions.”

Ana Grilo, Kirkus

“A French-Vietnamese Paris-based science fiction author who lives in Paris but writes in English and is fast becoming one of the news stars of the genre, garnering awards and nominations in her wake.”

Maxim Jakubowksi, Crime Time

Awards